Tags

, , , , ,

If you have a sluggish thyroid, I hope you take a minute to read this.

Today I pulled a book from my shelves as I have reason to read from it again. The title is “Feeling Fat, Fuzzy or Frazzled” by Richard Shames, MD and Karilee Shames, PhD, RN.

The book is a 3 step program to Beat Hormone Havoc and Restore Thyroid, Adrenal, and Reproductive Balance.

I bought the book a few years ago and used the advice to work toward restoring some energy to my body as well as to reverse uncontrollable weight gain. Most of my life I’ve been fortunate to be able to keep my body at a weight that was reasonably comfortable, so it was very disconcerting, to say the least, to find I was gaining weight and nothing that used to work would reverse the process.

The steps I took, which I learned in reading from the book definitely helped.

Now, a few years later, I find I’m dealing with what they term “frazzled” but I term PMS on steroids aka days when I’m completely unable to handle stress. I have reason to believe these symptoms are related to changing hormones, but still I know this is not “normal” and thus I need to find what’s out of balance.

Since being “frazzled” or quick tempered is very  uncharacteristic of me, I’m determined to figure out what’s going wrong and do what I can to correct it.

Just now I read something I want to share with all who have symptoms of a sluggish thyroid; a thyroid that doesn’t seem to do its job so we feel the effects:

Fluoride has been used by the medical profession to slow down activity of an overactive thyroid gland. “It is no longer used medically for this purpose since the development of better medicines, propylthiouracil (PTU) and methmazole (Tapazole). However, as a result of its ability to slow thyroid function, fluoride has systemic effects, as well.”

What I gather from this is that ingesting commercial fluoride via the water we drink, or food eaten that was grown using fluoridated water, or consuming beverages that contain fluoridated water or using hygiene products that are fluoridated, we are in essence medicating our body and one of the effects of this is to slow the function of our thyroid.

I personally know people who are very frustrated with their bodies due to excess unwanted body fat which they can’t seem to shed due to a sluggish thyroid; hence my desire to share this information.

There is a lot more info that follows, which you can read in the book. I hope you find a copy and read it. But here’s a really important point I want to share:

When fluoride was originally tested on research animals, the fluoride tested was naturally occurring sodium fluoride (NaF).  I think it’s extremely important to be aware this naturally occurring fluoride is NOT what is being added to public water supplies today.

http://www.cdc.gov/fluoridation/factsheets/engineering/wfadditives.htm

What is used today is hydrofluosilicic acid, an industrial waste product of the fertilizer and aluminum industries. I don’t know about you, but I DON’T want that pollutant in my body.

From this book I learned that scientist, engineers and lawyers of the EPA headquarters in Washington D.C. stood, unanimously, against fluoridation. The following links take you to their letter and other helpful information.

http://fluoridealert.org/

http://www.keepersofthewell.com/Introduction.html

 

