Tags

The book is titled: “Losing Your Faith, Finding Your Soul –The passage to new life when old beliefs die” by David Robert Anderson.

I found this to be one of the most thought provoking books I’ve ever read. Within the chapters of this book the author takes us on a journey, one he traveled when his belief system was deeply challenged. In the process he came to see things in a much deeper and more meaningful way; this being the gift afforded the reader as each chapter is read, thought upon and pondered. Of his crisis he says “I didn’t know it then, but what I thought was an end was in fact a beginning, and a promising one.”

We learn the author experienced a crisis of faith in mid-life, brought on by a combination of overworking and a personal crisis. Through this experience he learned that when “one understanding of our spiritual self dies, another larger one is waiting to be born”. Learning to “identify and come to terms with the fear, grief and confusion that accompany a shift in our spiritual foundation” is availed to the reader in the chapters of this book: 244 pages broken down into 20 chapters, which are divided up into 6 passages: The Good-Bye Gate; Stand Apart; Deep Dive; Arrival Time: Now; Unconditional Surrender; Habits of the Heart; and a prologue and an epilogue.

From pg 11 “…this is not a book to take away your faith. It is a tract that meets you down at the soul’s Lost Luggage counter, to show you how a renewed and deeper faith grows precisely through loss and disillusionment.”

From pg 15: “When Jesus said, ‘For those who want to save their life will lose it, and those who lose their life for my sake will find it,’ I pretended to get it, but I didn’t –not really. Other, less circumspect people lost things, not me. Especially not my life. But after the turbulent years of my early forties, I sensed that my life had somehow gone lost (even if I hadn’t set out to lose it), and I had to know the secret of those cryptic words.”

pg55-56 “Claiming your own self is always a process of separation. Since adolescence you’ve been forming a self by identifying with this or that group….Family, race, clan, religion, social status, and scores of subgroups all define a piece of who you are. Becoming yourself, then, entails a series of separations. Carl Jung called it ‘individuation’. Psychiatrist Murray Bowen call it ‘differentiation of self’. It’s what enables you to stand apart, stand on your own two feet. Its how you unhook from an unhealthy reliance on external sources of authority and begin to author yourself. It enables you to say, ‘I no longer believe that’. ‘I don’t choose to participate in that anymore’. ‘That is not my calling and never was’….You don’t think you’re anything special because you’ve self-differentiated. You just know who you are, and that is it’s own reward.”

Each chapter of this book begins with a thought provoking quote that sets the stage for the chapters content. And the book is filled with interesting quotes and personal stories that help clarify the authors intended message. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and intend to read it again; this time doing so with the intent to better understand the message and apply what is applicable to my life.

“I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.”

 

